Greece Decides

OK, I know I’ve been slacking with updating the blog, but I’m going to do my best to be more consistent.

So last night, Greece held their National Final for the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest and the winner was Watch My Dance, performed by Loukas Giorkas featuring Stereo Mike. You watch the winning performance below:

While watching the show, the only songs that stood out for me were Hamogela by Triimitonio, which was very catchy, but never really went anywhere after the first chorus. I also thought the presentation was rather chaotic and amounted to the group looking like a trio of lads out on the town in a karaoke bar. Another song I liked was The Time Is Now by Valando Trifonos. Well-performed but the only drawback was the striking similarity to Miley Cyrus’ The Climb. I was very disappointed with It’s All Greek To Me! by Antigoni Psyhrami. Going by the title, composers and  singer, I thought it could potentially be great but fell flat on its face. The staging of Nikki Ponte’s I Don’t Wanna Dance was… well, weird. I mean, what the heck were the backing dancers wearing?

At the end of it, I ranked Watch My Dance, The Time Is Now and I Don’t Wanna Dance as my Top 3 and was quite pleased when Watch My Dance won. I think it’s an interesting fusion of traditional Greek and modern hip hop and should definetly do well at Eurovision. Plus, big props to Greece for sending a song in Greek again.

Secondly, I must say that in terms of production and staging, this was one of the worst this season. I found it hard very hard to believe that this is the same broadcaster that hosted the colourful Eurovision in 2006. I know Greece is having financial difficulties, but you don’t need wads of cash to bring in a decent presenter and have a more audience members.

That being said, I’m wholly satisfied with the outcome, as another country sends another ‘un-Eurovision’ song to Eurovision that is modern and interesting. Many people are complaining that the quality of this year’s entries are low, but I think that they are just different. No longer are countries sending cheesy and/or freaky entries. Now we are seeing legitimate music compositions which I find very exciting.

Leave a Reply

