My favourite Maltesers in 2012.

The full length versions of all the songs competing in Malta’s National Final for the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest have been offically revealed with the release of the preview videos.

After listening to all of them, my two favourites and most likely to take the win are Richard Edwards’ Look At Me Now and Fabrizio Faniello’s I Will Fight For You (Papa’s Song). Look At Me Now is a pleasant rock ballad and I Will Fight For You is a pop stomper that seemingly borrows the pulsating melody of The BeeGees’ Tragedy. Both songs are complete opposites and its hard to call it.

For me, this is a case of déjà vu, as in 2011, it was the same case with my favourites being the entries from Richard and Fabrizio (Finally and No Surrender respectively). This year, my outside favourite is Pure by Claudia Faniello. I’m glad she ditched the rock and is now singing a beautiful ballad that befits her beautiful voice.

You can check out all the songs here. And can I just give big props to TVM for the wonderful production quality? Between the fancy intro titles and sparkly stage, it’s looking quite X Factor-esque to me. I’m fulling expecting a fantastic show on the 3rd and 4th of February!

Leave a Reply

