ASFE chats with… Tao Hypah!

The pop landscape of The Netherlands is about to receive a shake-up with the arrival of an exciting new pop star by the name of Tao Hypah. Dedicated, outspoken and extremely talented, his brand of brash, catchy electro-pop is sure to set tongues wagging and toes tapping. I had the opportunity to chat with the up-and-coming Dutch singer about his music and ofcourse, his bid for the Dutch ticket to the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. Check out what he had to say!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

ASFE:  Hallo Tao! Could you please introduce yourself  to our readers?

Tao:  I’m Tao Hypah 21 years old, born to a Dutch mother and Asian father and raised in Holland. I grew up in a very musical and creative family, which is where my passion for making music comes from. At the moment I’m working with different producers from Vietnam, Germany, England and, of course, Holland.

ASFE:  Tell us something unexpected about yourself! We all have our unexpected quirks, what’s yours?

Tao:  I sleep naked. Not sure if that’s a quirk!

ASFE:  Can you describe what your song ‘Play The Girl’ is all about? What would it mean for you and the song to represent The Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest?

Tao:  For me ‘Play The Girl’ is about crossing your own boundaries. The lyrics may sound controversial to some but I know everyone has that moment in life that you just want to flick the switch in your head and let yourself go. That’s the message of ‘Play The Girl’. It’s about being free. It’s actually about what life is about. There are more sides to us than we even realise and they deserve to be put in a song!

To be given the chance to represent The Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest would be amazing. Talking about crossing boundaries! I would be very honoured and do my best to deliver a great performance.

ASFE:  ‘Play The Girl’  is one of the favourites to make it to the televised rounds with lots of support from the Eurofans. How does it feel knowing you’ve gathered all this support? Were you expecting it?

Tao:  I had no expectations at all. I just thought it would be a great adventure that I should be a part of, so I decided to give it a go. I’m very happy about and humbled by all the positive reactions. The support I’ve been getting from people who’ve heard the song has already made it all worth while.

ASFE:  We know the Eurovision Song Contest isn’t exactly viewed as the ‘coolest’ in The Netherlands. What do you plan on doing to change this perception?

Tao:  I don’t know if I can change this perception on my own but all I can do is be myself and do what I love most. I do know that Eurovision Song Contest can be a whole lot of fun, so the doubters should just give it a fair chance and enjoy it for what it is – a great, colourful, fun Saturday evening TV show.

ASFE:  What are some of your favorite Eurovision Song Contest entries and moments?

Tao:  I loved the last year’s performance by the Irish twins Jedward! So over the top, supercamp and their song ‘Lipstick’ was really good, really catchy. I thought it deserved to become an international hit. I liked Jedward’s fun factor, not taking themselves too seriously. And, their stage production was really cool!

ASFE:  Over here, we organize massive Eurovision parties on the night of the Grand Final, complete with culinary delicacies from each of the participating countries. Should you go on to represent The Netherlands, can you suggest some of your favorite Dutch dishes that the fans can prepare in your honor?

Tao:  We have really nice cookies called ” Stroopwafels” or,in English, treacle waffles. For those not familiar with this delicacy, it’s a waffle made from two thin layers of baked butter with caramel syrup filling in the middle. I love fish too, so I also recommend a raw dish we call “Haring” fresh herring with onions.

ASFE:  What’s next in store for Tao Hypah? Will we get to hear more music? Is there an album on the way?

Tao:  There is so much going on at the moment. We’re doing a brand new radio edit of ‘Play The Girl’ which I’m very excited about. There’s possibly going to be a video for it too, and I’m currently in the studio recording vocals for 3 new songs, which will be on my album. We’re now talking to several record labels, so I think 2012 will be an exciting year.

ASFE:  And finally, what message would you like to give our readers and the Eurofans?

Tao:  I’ll keep it simple – have fun, enjoy your life, be free, be who you are. Love and respect. That’s all that matters. And as for Eurovision – it’s such a guilty pleasure and I can’t wait for the next one, whether as a contestant or a fan watching it on TV. Both ways, it will be fun!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
We’d like to thank Tao Hypah and his management for the interview and to wish him good luck. The candidates for the Nationaal Songfestival will be announced on 5th January 2012 and here’s hoping Tao and Play The Girl is among them!
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
For those of you who can’t wait to hear Tao’s album, here’s a sneak peak with a track called Celeb.
You can also check out his Eurovision bid Play The Girl:
3 Comments on “ASFE chats with… Tao Hypah!”

  1. Daniela says:

    Cool voice!!! And nice interview as well 🙂

  2. Shuya says:

    He looks cool and his songs sound very futuristic. Me like aaaa lot

  3. BMX says:

    Cool! Hope he gets selected. I want to see a live performance to Play the girl 🙂


Leave a Reply

