Finland reveals 2012 entries in UMK.

Finland has unveiled all forty songs that will be competing in the country’s newly revamped national final for the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest, ‘Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu’. First glance will reveal that a majority of the competing songs are performed by completely new artists. There are a few familiar faces including Petra and Freeman. However, it seems that YLE fully intends ‘Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu’ to primarily act as a showcase and launching pad for up-and-coming Finnish musical talent. You can check out the songs here.

I’m currently working my way through the songs, and so far the ones I like on first listening are Alchemy Road’s Burning, Judy’s Kisscollector, Eveliina Määttä’s Perfect and Iconcrash’s We Are The Night. All in all, it looks like a promising bunch and the televised shows ought to be very interesting and different from the other national finals this season.